pjyounger

My thoughts on … stuff

It’s Not About Me


It’s Not About Me, its for the Holy Spirit

As support staff, I usually work behind the scenes, often doing the things to prep for a meeting or event. Things like logistics, handling the RSVPs, tracking deadlines; the stuff seldom seen and certainly not seen by the people we serve. Many things I do appear seamless to the staff, yet to the people they serve, it’s well received. I might stand at the copier making 200 copies of this, or folding and hole-punching that. Sometimes it seems mundane or same old same old, or simply thankless. I’m just doing whatever it is I do, and whatever is needed, and whatever is asked of me. That’s the nature of the job for the support team.

Sometimes when I begin to feel that my work doesn’t really matter, I call on the Holy Spirit to remind me, “it’s not about me.” When I don’t get to see the fruits of my labors, or who ultimately will see or use those 200 copies, I remember it’s not about me. Yet, I know what I do matters to those who we encounter and accompany. I hope that I may be creating holy moments for others. 

I’m really lucky; my job is working for the church. I know that in doing the work of the church, I can touch more people, and it gives my life meaning and purpose. It helps me to see the face of Jesus in whatever I do, and I imagine that my hands and heart are guided by the Holy Spirit. Truth is, it’s not about me – it’s about Jesus, and the holy moments we encounter serving Him, through serving others.

One of my favorite things is, when I help out at an event – handling registrations, doing set up and clean up; I go to the exit doors to thank people for attending. I like to ask if they had a good day, or did they have a favorite session? I love the opportunity to experience holy moments in hearing their positive thoughts. I enjoy seeing one more smile and receiving their well wishes. I see many holy moments in their words and kindness.

I like to think of myself as a product of servant leadership. I’ve had so many excellent teachers, coaches and mentors along the way, I hope I’ve been able to use their example and encouragement, to see the value in putting God’ work above my own. Some of my best times at work started out as chaos, but in the end revealed themselves as being the hands of Jesus. I hope I create holy moments for others. I believe that serving others gives me holy moments. I hope that you, no matter what your role in life, can discover holy moments every day and that you experience the love of Jesus in everything you do.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment